The Board approved Trustee Stirling’s motion to seek federal funding to support the recently arrived Syrian refugee students.  Edmonton Public receives provincial funding based on enrollment at September 30th each year, but there is no additional funding for students who enrol mid-year after September 30th.  While the District as a matter of practice provides great supports to all students that enrol after September 30th each year, our schools have received over 300 refugee students in recent months and transitional support for the balance of this school year would provide these students an even better start.

The Board also approved the District 3 year capital plan for 2017-2020.  While the funding approval rests with the Provincial Government, proposals that may be of interest to residents of west Edmonton include:

– a new Grade 7-12 school in Glenridding Heights – Year 1

– new K-9 schools for Edgemont and Lewis Farms (Rosenthal) – Year 2

– modernization of Hillcrest Junior High and a new Southwest High School – Year 3

Each year, principals are invited to nominate first year teachers for the Edwin Parr Teacher Award which is sponsored by the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA). One nominee is selected to represent the District at the zone level.

Six first year teachers were nominated by their principals for the 2016 ASBA Edwin Parr Teacher Award.
A committee of District leadership staff met on Friday, February 6, 2016, to review and assess the nominations relative to the selection criteria established by ASBA. Results from the committee’s assessment, as well as points awarded based on scholastic achievement and student teaching evaluations were compiled. Based on the selection criteria, four semi-finalists were selected:

Courtney Barron              George H. Luck School
Matthew Mudry                Dickinsfield School
Erin Yaschuk                      L. Y. Cairns School
Chantal Smith                    Malmo School

Congratulations to all finalists and the District nominee for the Zone 2/3 2016 Edwin Parr Teacher Award Courtney Barron!